Jail for a California DUI
In California, drivers convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) face stiff penalties, including license suspension, fines, and jail time. The potential jail sentences do vary and are dependent upon a number of factors, including how many DUI arrests within a 10-year period, speeding, high blood-alcohol content levels, etc. The following is an outline of jail sentencing requirements according to
California law that may be imposed on drunk drivers:
- First-Time DUI Offenders - If probation is accepted, then no minimum jail time is required; however, courts may still impose a 48-hour to 6-month jail sentence. Experienced California DUI attorneys may be able to get jail sentences converted to work sentences. DUI defendants who refuse probation face anywhere from 96 hours to 6 months in jail.
- Second-Time DUI Offenders - If probation is accepted, there is a minimum jail time of 96 hours; however, some counties will impose a minimum of 10 days in jail and some 30 days in jail. Savvy California DUI attorneys may be able to get jail sentences converted to work sentences. If the defendant does not accept probation, then the courts may impose a 90-day jail sentence.
- Third-Time DUI Offenders - If probation is accepted, there is a minimum jail sentence of 120 days; however many counties will impose a minimum 210-day sentence and others 1 year. It is possible to have the jail time converted to an alternative sentence such as house arrest or alcohol rehabilitation.
- Fourth-Time or Multiple DUI Offenders - Most often this offense is considered a felony offense and courts may impose a jail sentence of three years in a state prison.